Sending Lost Device Protection Commands to iOS Devices



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated Endpoint Protection Admin Guide.

You can send iOS devices a variety of Lost Device Protection commands. These commands allow you to locate, scream, lock or unlock the device, or send a Wipe command to permanently remove data.

For information on using Lost Device Protection with Android devices, see Sending Android Devices Lost Device Protection Commands.

To issue Lost Device Protection commands to an iOS device:

  1. Log in to the SecureAnywhere website.
  2. Click the Mobile Protection tab. The Mobile Protection console displays with the Status tab active.
  3. Click the Devices tab. The Devices tab displays. 
  4. Double-click on the iOS device for which you want to apply Lost Device commands. The Device Details window displays.
  5. Click the Lost Device Protection tab.
    The Lost Device Protection tab lists the available commands under Device Recovery Actions.
  6. Select any of the following:
    CommandDescription
    Locate This Device

    Responds with a link to a Google Maps page showing the current location.

    Note: For the Locate command to work, the device must have either a GPS, Wi-Fi, or a telephony connection. Also, this feature requires device to have iOS 7 and higher.
    Scream Locks the device, and prevents its unauthorized use, then performs a factory reset to remove everything, including personal data, apps, and the account. Then it blasts a loud screaming noise from the phone to help locate it or scare a thief.  To suppress the sound, user must push the up or down volume buttons on device.
    Wipe

    Immediately locks the device and prevents its unauthorized use, then performs a factory reset to remove everything, including personal data, apps, and the account. Once it's locked, the user must enter the account password to unlock it.

    Note: Do not use this command unless you are absolutely sure that the device is permanently lost and you want to completely wipe it!
    Lock Remotely locks the device and prevents its unauthorized use. Once it's locked, the user must enter the account password to unlock it.
    Clear Passcode Allows you to unlock the device. The user will have 60 minutes to enter a new passcode.