Changing System Optimizer Settings



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated Mac User Guide.

You can customize what the System Optimizer cleans up from your system by enabling or disabling the settings. The options on the settings list may change depending on what browsers and other applications you currently have installed.

Note: System Optimizer for Mac is only available on the consumer edition of Webroot SecureAnywhere.

To change System Optimizer settings:

  1. From the dock, click the Webroot icon.



    The main interface displays.



  2. Click the Advanced Settings button.



    The Advanced Settings window displays.



  3. In the left pane, select System Optimizer.



    The System Optimizer panel displays.



  4. Select or deselect any of the options, described in the following table:
    SETTINGDESCRIPTION
    Run system maintenance scripts

    Runs system maintenance scripts to clean up a variety of System logs and temporary files. By default, these are executed between 03:15 and 05:30 hours local time, depending on the script.

    For more information, see Running the Mac OS X Maintenance Scripts.

    Note: The Running the Mac OS X Maintenance Scripts website is an external, third-party website and is not maintained or supported by Webroot.
    Remove temporary files

    Deletes all files and folders in the system temporary folder, but not files that are in use by an open program. This folder is usually located at:

    /tmp

    You should not put any files here that you need to keep. The files in this folder can consume a lot of space on your hard drive.

    Remove cache files 

    Removes any files that have been cached.

    The Cache is located at:

    /Users//Library/Cache

    Remove log files 

    Removes any logs on your system.

    The logs are located at:

    /private/var/log/asl

    Empty trash  Removes all files from your Trash, which contains files you have deleted using Windows Explorer.

    When you delete a file, it is stored in the Trash until you empty it. You should periodically empty the Trash  to preserve valuable disk space on your computer.

    The Trash is located at:

    /Users//Trash

    Remove diagnostic files 

    Removes any files that have been created when diagnostic reports have been run.

    Theses files are located at:

    /Users//Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports

  5. Do any of the following:
    • If you selected or deselected any of the checkboxes, click the Reset System Optimizer Settings button.
    • To leave the Settings pane without making changes, click the Close button.
    • To reset to default settings, click the Reset All button.