Running System Optimizer



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated Mac User Guide.

If you purchased a SecureAnywhere edition that includes System Optimizer, you can remove all traces of your web browsing history, files that show your computer use, and other files that reveal your activity.

Note: System Optimizer for Mac is only available on the consumer edition of Webroot SecureAnywhere.
As you work on your computer and browse the Internet, you leave behind traces. These traces may be in the form of temporary files placed on your hard drive, lists of recently used files in programs, lists of recently visited websites, or cookies that websites placed on your hard drive. Anyone who has access to your computer can view what you have done and where you have been. Using System Optimizer, you can protect your privacy by removing traces of your activity, including the Internet history, address bar history, Internet temporary files (cache), and cookie files.
You can also use the System Optimizer to delete unnecessary files that Windows OS-X stores on your computer. Certain files can consume valuable space on your computer. Even with today's large hard drives, these unnecessary files can impair your computer's performance.
Optimizations remove unnecessary files and traces, not malware threats. Malware such as spyware and viruses are removed during scans. Think of the System Optimizer as the housekeeper for your computer, while the Scanner serves as the security guard. For more information about scans, see Running Scans.
Before running the optimizer, you can customize it using any of the following procedures:

To run System Optimizer:

  1. From the dock, click the Webroot icon.



    The main interface displays.



  2. Click Utilities to expand the Utilities drop-down menu.



    The Utilities menu expands.



  3. From the Utilities drop-down menu, click the Optimize Now button.



    The System Optimizer tab displays.



  4. Click the Optimize Now button. 



    The system displays a confirmation message.



  5. To proceed, click the Yes button, otherwise, click the No button.
  6. When the optimizer completes, the system displays the following information:
    • How long ago the last optimization ran.
    • How much disk space was recovered in the last optimization.
    • How much total disk space has been recovered by system optimization.
  7. Optionally, you can do any of the following:
    • Click the Delete Files Securely button to confirm deletion of specific files.
    • Click the Verify Disk button to verify that your operating system disk is operating without errors.
    • Click the Repair Disk button to repair any broken files.
  8. When you're done, click the Back Arrow to return to the main panel or click the Close button.