Setting GSM-Level Data Filters

Within the Global Site Manager (GSM) console, you can remove endpoints from your data that have not been seen for a set period of time, giving you the most accurate data for the current state-of-play of your deployment.

You can set a master setting in your GSM console to be inherited by all sites under that GSM, or set sites individually. Your Dashboard and Scheduled Reports will only show endpoints which have been seen in the time period you select.

To set a GSM-level data filter:

  1. Log in to the GSM console.
  2. When the Welcome message displays, click the X in the upper right corner.




    The GSM console displays with the Sites tab active.




  3. Click the Account Settings tab.



    The Account Settings panel displays with the Settings tab active.




  4. From the Data Filter drop-down menu, select one of the following:
    • Show all data; this is the default setting
    • Hide all data for endpoints not seen for 1 month
    • Hide all data for endpoints not seen for 2 months
    • Hide all data for endpoints not seen for 3 months
    • Hide all data for endpoints not seen for 6 months
    • Hide all data for endpoints not seen for 12 months




    Note: When using the data filter settings, data is not deleted, but simply hidden from the dataset you are viewing based on your options. Selecting a different time period or selecting to show all data will always show all endpoint information relevant to your selection
  5. When you're done, click the Save button.




    The system displays a note indicating that your changes have been saved.




  6. Click the OK button.



    Note: If needed, select the Don't show this again checkbox to have the system not display the Save Successful message in future.
    The lower half of the Settings panel displays a Data Filter log, which audits and logs all changes made to data filter settings. The log includes the following information:
    • Site/Console — The site the change was applied to or the GSM console parent setting that was changed.
    • Setting — The option that was selected. 
    • User — The name of the user who made the change.
    • Date — The date and time the change was made.