Changing Shield Settings



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated PC User Guide.

Shield settings provide advanced users with a little more control over shielding functions.

This procedure describes how to do the following:

  • How to disable shields.
  • How to change shield settings.

To disable shields:

  1. From the system tray, double-click the Webroot icon.



    The main interface displays.




  2. Click the PC Security gear icon.



    The Scan & Shields panel displays.



    Note the following:
    • A green button next to the shield name indicates the shield is enabled. We recommend that you keep all shields enabled; however, you can disable a shield by clicking the green button.
    • For most shields, the window color scheme goes brown, indicating that your computer is not completely protected.
    • For the Realtime Shield, the color scheme goes red, indicating that you are vulnerable to threats and should enable the shield.

To change shield settings:

  1. From the system tray, double-click the Webroot icon.



    The main interface displays.




  2. In the upper right corner, click the Advanced Settings button.



    The Settings pane displays.




  3. Select Shields.



    The Shields pane displays.






  4. Do either of the following:
    • To enable a setting, select the checkbox.
    • To disable a setting, deselect the checkbox.
    The following table describes shield settings.
    SETTINGDESCRIPTION
    Prevent interruption by intelligently suppressing warnings Uses built-in intelligence to suppress warnings if they will interfere with operations.
    Automatically quarantine previously blocked files

    Remembers how you responded to an alert, that is, whether you allowed a file or blocked it. It won’t prompt you again when it encounters the same file but will take the same action as before, including sending it to quarantine if appropriate.

    If you deselect this checkbox, SecureAnywhere opens an alert every time it encounters the file in the future.

    If you blocked a file and want it restored, you can retrieve it from quarantine.

    Check files for threats when written or modified

    Scans any new or modified files that you save to disk.

    If you deselect this checkbox, the system ignores new file installations; however, it still alerts you if a threat tries to launch.

    Block threats automatically if no user is logged in Stops threats from executing even when you are logged off. Threats are sent to quarantine without notification.
    Warn if untrusted programs make core system changes when offline Displays a warning if an untrusted program tried to change core system settings while you were offline.
    Verify the integrity of the operating system Checks the operating system for problems.
    Silently and automatically block untrusted access to user data Automatically prevents unknown programs from accessing user data.
    Allow trusted programs to access protected data without warning Allows access to user data for trusted programs.
    Prevent any program from modifying the HOSTs file Prevents any program from modifying your HOSTs file.
  5. When you’re done, click the Save button.