Synchronizing Files



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated PC User Guide.

Webroot includes one preconfigured folder for synchronization, called the Webroot Anywhere folder. It resides under your personal User folder in Windows, as shown in the example below. Any files you put in the Webroot Anywhere folder are automatically synchronized with your online account at my.webrootanywhere.com and with shared folders on other computers or mobile devices in your account.

To synchronize files:

  1. From the system tray, double-click the Webroot icon.


    The main interface displays.




  2. Click the Backup & Sync gear icon.
  3. Click the Backup & Sync tab.
  4. Click the Open Anywhere Folder button.



    Windows Explorer opens to the Webroot Anywhere folder.
  5. In Windows Explorer, copy files or folders into the Webroot Anywhere folder.
    • The files are instantly synchronized to your online SecureAnywhere account and to other shared folders on other computers, if you configured them.
    • In Windows Explorer, icons next to the files and folders indicate the status of the synchronization.



    Note: Some files may fail to synchronize because their storage size is larger than the upload limit. You can adjust the limit up to 2000 MB in the Do not upload files larger than field in the Backup & Sync Settings panel. For more information, see Changing Backup & Sync Settings.
  6. Do either of the following:
    • To see the amount of used storage in your account, look at the Storage indicator in the Backup & Sync panel.
    • To check that your files were successfully copied, access your online account by clicking the Visit the Webroot Cloud button.



  7. When your browser opens to my.webrootanywhere.com, log in to your account, click the Go to Backup & Sync tab, then select the Anywhere panel.



    For more information about using Backup & Sync in your online account, see the SecureAnywhere Management Website User's Guide.