Syncing Folders Between Computers



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated PC User Guide.

If you installed SecureAnywhere on multiple computers, you can create shared, synchronized folders between them. Whenever you update data in one of these shared folders, for example, when you add, edit, move, or delete files, SecureAnywhere automatically makes the same changes in your online account and to all shared folders. This automatic synchronization can be beneficial when you frequently use multiple computers and need access to the most recent files.

Unless you disable synchronization on the Webroot Anywhere folder, it is always synchronized with all computers on the same SecureAnywhere account. The procedure below describes how to create additional synchronization folders.

Note: Be aware that when you make changes to a folder on one computer, the changes are propagated across the synchronized folders on all computers in the account. For example, if you delete a synchronized folder from one computer, it is removed from all the computers. However, you can still access a deleted folder or file from the Recycle Bin in your SecureAnywhere account. For more information, see the SecureAnywhere Management Website User Guide.

To sync folders between computers:

  1. Configure a new sync folder on the first computer. For more information, see Adding Sync Folders.
  2. On the second computer, if you have not already done so, follow the Downloading Backup & Sync procedure to install Backup & Sync.
  3. Log in with the same online account you created for the first computer.
    The new computer will be added to that account.
    Note: Your license must include multiple devices.
    When you log in on the second computer, the Backup & Sync tab displays automatically.
  4. While on the second computer, in the Folders tab of Backup & Sync, click the Link to an existing Cloud Folder button.



    The Link to an Existing Cloud Folder window displays, showing all the synchronized folders that have been added to this account.
  5. Highlight the folder you want to synchronize with the second computer.
  6. Click Browse and select the local folder you want linked to the selected folder. The folder names do not have to be the same.



  7. Click the Save button.
    The folder you selected is synchronized and now displays in the Backup & Sync panel.