Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated PC User Guide.
The Secure Erase feature described here allows you to specify how thoroughly the System Optimizer deletes files when it runs. You can also use this feature to enable a Secure Erase option on the Windows Explorer right-click menu, as described below.
Normally, when you delete a file, you are moving it to the Recycle Bin, where anyone can access it. Even when you empty the Recycle Bin, you are not actually deleting the files; you are only deleting the operating system's pointers to the files. The actual data still exists on your hard drive and, unless it is overwritten by other data, it could be resurrected using special recovery tools.
The setting on the Secure Erase panel can tell the System Optimizer and the Windows Explorer right-click menu option to permanently remove files in a shredding process, which overwrites the data with random characters. This shredding feature is a convenient way to make sure no one can ever access your files with a recovery tool.
This topic includes proceedures for the following:
The Secure Erase pane displays.