Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated Endpoint Protection Admin Guide.
This section describes some special circumstances you may encounter when you change hardware and operating systems on endpoints.
If you install a new operating system on an endpoint, the change will create duplicate endpoint entries in the Management Portal. Before you install a new operating system, you should deactivate the endpoint. See Deactivating endpoints.
If you have already performed the OS installation, you can simply deactivate the oldest entry in the Management Portal. The extra license is then removed and the duplicate endpoint is placed in the Deactivated Endpoints group.
If you install a new hard drive in an endpoint and reinstall SecureAnywhere on it, it will appear as a new entry in the Management Portal. Before you switch out a hard drive, you should first deactivate the endpoint from the Management Portal so you do not use an extra license. See Deactivating Endpoints.
If you change other types of hardware on an endpoint, for example, you install a new motherboard, processor, or network adaptor, that upgraded computer will not appear as a new entry in the Management Portal. You do not need to deactivate the endpoint first.
If you move endpoints to a new subnet, make sure the same communication lines are open as on the previous subnet. These domains should be allowed through the firewall: