Organizing endpoints into groups



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated Endpoint Protection Admin Guide.

When you install SecureAnywhere on endpoints, those endpoints are automatically assigned to your default policy and to the Default group. (A group is a collection of endpoints, which helps you organize your devices for easy management.) Once endpoints report into the Management Portal (after performing the first scan), you can move them to a different group. For example, you might organize endpoints by time zone so that you can schedule the same scan time for all of them.

Note: To fully manage groups, you must have access permissions for Groups: Create & Edit, Groups: Deactivate/Reactivate Endpoints, and Groups: Assign Endpoints to Groups. To change access permissions, see Setting permissions for portal users.


You can view all groups in the Group Management tab, which looks similar to the example below. Select a group from the Groups panel on the left to see the endpoints and policies associated with that group on the right. Endpoints are shown on the top; policies are shown on the bottom.




Note: All endpoints are assigned to the Default group, unless you used the /groupname switch in the command line during a silent installation. See Deploying SecureAnywhere to endpoints.


To create more groups and move endpoints, follow these steps:

  1. Add one or more new groups, as described in Adding a new group.
  2. Move endpoints to the newly created groups, as described in Moving endpoints to another group.
  3. Assign a policy to the new group of endpoints, as described in Applying a policy to endpoints.