Backup & Sync Overview



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated Mac User Guide.

If your SecureAnywhere edition includes Backup & Sync, you can protect your important files and photos.

Storing Files in the Anywhere Folder or in Your Own Sync Folders
You can use Webroot's preconfigured folder called the Anywhere folder or you can create your own sync folders. Any files you place in these folders are automatically synchronized in your account, to any other computers with shared folders, and to mobile devices with the Backup & Sync app installed.

SecureAnywhere constantly monitors the Anywhere folder and other sync folders. If it detects a change, such as an edited file, a new file, or a deleted file, it immediately makes the same change to your online account, to shared folders on other computers, and to mobile devices with the Backup & Sync app installed. If you are working offline, SecureAnywhere automatically picks up changes the next time you connect to the Internet.

If SecureAnywhere detects an edited file, it does not overwrite the original version stored in your account. Instead, it uploads the latest version and makes a copy of the original file. If necessary, you can revert back to previous versions, up to five. If you save changes a sixth time, your most recent version is saved and the oldest version is removed.

To learn more about the preconfigured Anywhere folder, see Synchronizing Files.

To create sync folders of your own, see Adding Sync Folders.

Backing Up Files
Instead of synchronizing files with multiple devices, you can simply back them up. For example, you may want to back up tax returns, old photos, and a scanned copy of your passport. These types of documents won't change and don't need to be kept in synchronization with other computers.

To learn more about backups, see Backing Up Files.