Changing Backup & Sync Settings



Hello. You have arrived at an outdated topic. Please click this link to be redirected to the updated Mac User Guide.

Webroot already configured backup and synchronization with our recommended settings, but you can adjust the settings if you want. For example, you can adjust the size limit of files to upload, or allow a backup or synchronization to run while your computer is on battery power.

To change backup and sync settings:

  1. Open SecureAnywhere.
  2. Click on the Backup & Sync tab.
  3. Click on the gear icon to the left of Backup & Sync.
  4. Click the Advanced Settings button in the upper right corner.



    The Backup & Sync panel displays. 
  5. To change a setting, do either fo the following:
    • To enable the setting, select the checkbox.
    • To disable the setting, deselect the checkbox.



    Note: This can only be accessed if you click the gear icon next to Backup & Sync first. If you click the Advanced Settings button on the home screen, it will only take you to the advanced settings for the antivirus.
    FIELDDESCRIPTION
    Ignore hidden files and directories When selected, files and directories that Windows has hidden in Explorer are not included in the sync. "Hidden" files are typically system files that do not need to be synchronized. They can also consume a lot of storage space.
    Do not backup or synchronize files while running on battery power When selected, SecureAnywhere does not run a synchronization when your computer is unplugged and running on the battery.
    Do not back or synchronize files when a full-screen application or game is running When selected, SecureAnywhere does not run a synchronization when you are watching a movie in full-screen mode or running a gaming application.
    Warn when quota usage exceeds The number in the field determines when SecureAnywhere displays a warning when your storage limit is exceeded. You can adjust the percentage by entering a new number.
    Do not upload files larger than The number in the field determines the size of files to include in synchronization. If the file size exceeds the displayed limit, it will not be uploaded. You can adjust the size limit by entering a new number in megabytes.
    Note: We recommend that you keep Webroot's default settings. If you make changes and decide you want to return to the recommended settings, click the Reset to Defaults button.